The CABF: The Past Handout

Quotation from Philip G.A. Griffin-Allwood, *Atlantic Baptist Fellowship within Convention:* A Pilgrimage for Identity: To be Free and Ecumenical. Appendix A:

By a majority of 61 (242/181; 57.2 %), the decision was made that no appointments were to be made by the United Baptist Convention of the Atlantic Provinces (UBCAP) to the Canadian Council of Churches (CCC) and that no funding, direct or indirect, would be made to the CCC. The second motion adopted by majority of 244 (359/115; 75.7%), changed the constitution of the Convention to read that churches could only appoint delegates who had been baptized by immersion.

The Original Purposes of the ABF (1971):

The Constitution of the Fellowship states these purposes:

- -To promote the gospel of Jesus Christ through the full ministry of preaching, teaching, and healing for the whole man;
- -To preserve religious and soul liberty;
- -To preserve the autonomy of the local churches;
- -To promote co-operation among Baptist Churches, and maintaining our historic traditions, to co-operate with other Christian bodies at all levels;
- -To promote the well-being and unity of the United Baptist Convention of the Atlantic Provinces.
- -The real spirit which the Fellowship wishes to foster is that of co-operation between various points of view, to try to prevent factionalism and to encourage a healing ministry amongst our churches.

ABF Officers at the first General Meeting held at First Baptist Church, Halifax on

May 26-27, 1972: As listed in *The Atlantic Baptist*, July 1, 1972:

President: Mr. Jack Matthews, Amherst **Secretary:** The Rev. Dan Gibson, Canard **Treasurer:** Mr. Winston Miles, Sydney

Christian Education: Dr. J. B. Wilson, Truro; E. A. Colquhoun, Amherst; J.P. Matthews,

Amherst.

Convention Attendance: Rev. Willis Henderson, Sydney; Mr. J. Winston Miles, Sydney

Social Service: Mrs. Watson Kirkconnell, Wolfville; Mrs. L. T. Hancock, Halifax.

Ecumenical Relations: Mr. J. P. Matthews, Amherst; Dr. R. S. Dunn, Amherst; Rev. D. H. Lamb, Truro.

Public Relations: Rev. Vincent Rushton, Wolfville; Rev. Mel Scott, Bridgewater; Mr. Dean Hennigar, Cornwallis; Mr. Don Hills, Saint John.

Convention Affairs: Rev. Terry Tingley, Bayside; Rev. Alder Colpitts, Seabright; Mr. W. H. MacRae, St. John.

Communion led by the Rev. Charlie Taylor, Wolfville .

17 original A.B.F. Churches (1971-1972):	Churches of the C.A.B.F. as of 2012
Lawrencetown United Baptist	Arlington Baptist
Indian Harbour United Baptist	Bayside United Baptist
Bayside United Baptist	Chester United Baptist Church
Seabright United Baptist	Falmouth United Baptist Church
Bridgewater United Baptist	First Baptist Church, Halifax
Wolfville United Baptist	First Baptist Church, Amherst
First Cornwallis United Baptist	Koinonia Baptist Church
Canning United Baptist	Lawrencetown Baptist Church
Sydney United Baptist	Lockhartville Baptist Church
German Street United Baptist	Northwest Baptist Church
Mount Beulah United Baptist	Port Williams United Baptist Church
Milton United Baptist	Wolfville Baptist Church
Pereaux United Baptist	Churches joining the CABF after 2012:
First Baptist Halifax	Scott's Bay Union
First Baptist Truro	First Baptist Church, Brantford, Ontario
First Baptist Amherst	Burlington Baptist Church, Burlington, Ontario
Digby United Baptist	(joined in June 2017)
	First Baptist Church, Edmonton, Alberta
	(joined in 2021)

The Concerned Pastors:

A letter to the Editor from the so-called "Concerned Pastors," was published in the November 1, 1971 edition of *The Atlantic Baptist*. The following people signed the letter, "Yours in Christ": D. Bruce Moore, Bill Thompson, Lawrence Meade, Mel Fawcett, M.C. Steeves, F.B. Mabey, A.G. Hubley, Henri Lanctin Sr., Ewald Schmidt, Ernest Allison, A. J. Burton, R.R. Hussey, Bill Milner, David Keith, Ralph MacDonnell, Donald McDougal, G. Manter Wilson, Victor Mersereau, Roger Estey, H. L. J. Lanctin, L.D. Farrell, F. J. Guinta Sr., Gerald H. Meyers, H. C. Pond, Floyd Campbell, E. J. Sperring, K. L. Fisher, Ron Stanley, Darrell Chase, Stewart Lynn, Ed Stackhouse, Seth W. Crowell, Lorne W. Mattheson, D. Garner, W. Floyd Haney, Douglas Campbell, H.A. Branscombe, Ed Hicks, Ronald C. MacCormack.